PDA

View Full Version : What is consider Rapid Breathing?

jerbear
03-30-2009, 05:57 AM
How many breathes per minute is consider rapid breathing????? I am new to this and have recently made a purchase of 12 discuses. In my opinion, I have always felt they breathed rapidly with compared to other fish I have owned however they are eating and swimming ok... Again what is the bench mark I should be looking for?

Thanks
Jerry

DiscusDude85
03-30-2009, 06:04 AM
60breaths per minute give or take. Are both gill plates opening and closing on the discus? Are the gill plates flared open? I there any cottony growth on the gill tissue? Are they flicking against objects in the tank? Let us know some more info.

Joe

DiscusDude85
03-30-2009, 06:04 AM

poconogal
03-30-2009, 06:20 AM
Healthy adults should breathe about 60 breaths per minute. Over that amount, but depending on how much over, would indicate rapid breathing. From what I understand, healthy juvies breathe more rapidly than adults. Someone else who has juvies should be along and can elaborate since I've only had sub-adults and adults. And after a good feed, they all will breathe heavily for awhile, flaring their gills.

jerbear
03-30-2009, 08:04 AM
The discus range in age from 3 to 6 months old and they are breathing 80+ per minute. No flared gills.. Occasionally I do see them flickering on the side but that is a rare occurance..The gills seemed to be red. Both gill plates are being used..Temp 85.. Water conditions are great.. Zero ammonia and nitrites.. 85%water change daily..They just seem to be breathing heavy..

Jerry

Eddie
03-30-2009, 08:20 AM
The discus range in age from 3 to 6 months old and they are breathing 80+ per minute. No flared gills.. Occasionally I do see them flickering on the side but that is a rare occurance..The gills seemed to be red. Both gill plates are being used..Temp 85.. Water conditions are great.. Zero ammonia and nitrites.. 85%water change daily..They just seem to be breathing heavy..