PDA

View Full Version : Fishless cycle - Time required for ammonia to appear

ilaizm
04-12-2009, 09:39 AM
I am using dead shrimps to produce the ammonia required for the filters to do a fishless cycle. How long does it take to be able to test the water for ammonia levels?

Eddie
04-12-2009, 09:52 AM
I am using dead shrimps to produce the ammonia required for the filters to do a fishless cycle. How long does it take to be able to test the water for ammonia levels?

That would depend on the water volume. If you are using shrimp to cycle a 30 gallon, it will be much different from a 125. I've never used shrimp before but I'd say a week or 2 by just guessing. :o

Eddie

jerbear
04-12-2009, 10:07 AM
I just finished doing a fishless cycle about a month ago.. I used ammonia that I purchased at my local store that way I could control the PPM.. Please keep in mind that this is not fast process.. It still took over 5 weeks to cycle the tankess..:mad::mad: Your patience will be tested!!

Please read the below article if you have any question on how to do a fishless cycle.
http://www.aquarticles.com/articles/management/Cow_Fishless_Cycle.html

Jerry

kaceyo
04-12-2009, 04:17 PM
I'd suggest removing the shrimp and using clear ammonia instead. The problem with using dead animals as a source for ammonia is that they also grow all manner of nasty bacteria and fungus that I wouldn't want in my tank.
Also, as Jerry said, you can control the amount of ammonia to get the best results.

Kacey

ilaizm
04-12-2009, 04:44 PM
Did as you suggested and removed the shrimps cos I wasn't too convinced with the idea myself. Now the problem is to find clear ammonia!

Roxanne
04-12-2009, 05:02 PM
bet your house smells good:D....if you can't get ammonia, use flake before you use a shrimp..

where do you live?

Rox

silent_thunder
04-12-2009, 08:13 PM
bet your house smells good:D....if you can't get ammonia, use flake before you use a shrimp..

where do you live?

Rox