PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of these fish.

jaykne
04-22-2009, 05:00 AM
I am kind of new to discus, I use to breed African's so not new to fishkeeping. 1 thing I don't think I am really good at is grading a discus, can you guy's look at these pics and let me know what you think? Thanks, Larry.

Eddie
04-22-2009, 05:03 AM
Hey there, welcome.

They look okay to me, the third one has a bit of a large eye. Good water and food and they should turn out nice. How long have you had them?

Eddie

jaykne
04-22-2009, 05:21 AM
I have had them one month, they are about 4", ya thats what I was thinking the size of the eyes on some of them :(

jaykne
04-22-2009, 05:26 AM
Did you see the other one added the the rest of the fish?

Eddie
04-22-2009, 06:33 AM
Yup, I saw it and posted.

Tell me this, what size tank, how often do you change the water, how many times a day do you feed them and what foods?

I'll try to give you a little recipe for success. The fish look like they have the potential to develop more.

Eddie

jaykne
04-22-2009, 08:50 AM
Hi Eddie, thanks for the response, I have a 55, I do daily water changes of 50%, I feed them beefheart in the morning before my water change, than O.S.I. Discus flake food mid morning, tetra color bits early afternoon, followed by the flake food again late afternoon, and thier last feeding of the day is frozen blood worms. I am a 100% dissable vet so I have allot of time on my hands and I do not miss a water change. When I got them they were pretty thin and did want to eat and were only feed beafheart, but now they eat like pigs and nice and thick. They have grown allot since I got them, but you hit the nail on the head the two you were talking about have not grown much in length sence I got them. I would greatly appreciate any advice you can give me, thank you so much for you honest opinion. Thanks again Larry.

jaykne
04-22-2009, 09:04 AM
Eddie,