PDA

View Full Version : Nitrite Nitrate Ph

timmy101
05-06-2009, 11:36 PM
I have a question about mitrite nitrate and PH, Im new to discus so I dont nothing about it. I have a 29 gallons tank and I do 40-50% water changes everyday but I dont really know how test it and to use the nitrite nitrate and Ph so can anyone help me out?

Eddie
05-06-2009, 11:38 PM
Do you have a test kit?

Eddie

timmy101
05-06-2009, 11:55 PM
[QUOTE=basshead;530742]Do you have a test kit?

Eddie[/QUOTE

I bought it at petco the one that come with the bottle and a small tube and a card but I dont know what is it use for they has some colors on it

Eddie
05-06-2009, 11:57 PM
[QUOTE=basshead;530742]Do you have a test kit?

Eddie[/QUOTE

I bought it at petco the one that come with the bottle and a small tube and a card but I dont know what is it use for they has some colors on it

What brand and what does it test for? Did you get master test kit to test PH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

If so, you fill the tube to the line with tank water and add the amount of drops as labeled on the bottle. Cap the tube and shake it. Check the color after the time period against the cards. PH is immediate.

Eddie

timmy101
05-07-2009, 12:08 AM
[QUOTE=timmy101;530748]

What brand and what does it test for? Did you get master test kit to test PH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

If so, you fill the tube to the line with tank water and add the amount of drops as labeled on the bottle. Cap the tube and shake it. Check the color after the time period against the cards. PH is immediate.

Eddie

I use the API and i didnt get the master piece one its all seperate a nitrite nitrate ammonia and PH. For example discus like 0ppm for nitrite nitrate ammonia so I try to make it close to the color 0ppm

Eddie
05-07-2009, 12:12 AM
You don't want ammonia or nitrite and evidence of nitrate is a good thing. It means you actually have a bacteria colony established. ;)

Eddie

timmy101
05-07-2009, 12:21 AM