PDA

View Full Version : newb needs help

amandalyne
05-13-2009, 05:28 PM
Hey everyone. This is my first time owing discus. I have a 95 gallon long tank. Flauval 305 canister filter. Recently got a bunch of discus they dont seem to ever get rid of the stress stripes water is normal feeding bloodworms 2 times a day 80 % changes every 2 days with prime. The 2 fullgrown blue diamond dont get stress stripes seem great the small rubey red no stress either seems to just be the wild greens , snakeskins? Tank mates are various angelfish 1 bristlenose baby plecco and 4 flowershrimp

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e202/kissedbylove/P1000155.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e202/kissedbylove/P1000097.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e202/kissedbylove/P1000021.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e202/kissedbylove/P1000061.jpg

kenhappen2u
05-13-2009, 06:30 PM
this is just my .02 Cents , first of all i would take down the background you have on the back of the tank .....discus do better with light/ bright colors like a solid powder blue , light green, etc . also you may want to consider taking out the dark colored gravel , and either go with a bare bottom tank or something like white sand . if gravel is a must then go with a white or natural river rock /pea gravel . also the more hiding places you give them they will take advantage of it and seem to be more skidish or shy when you walk up to the tank.....most of us here go with a bare bottom tank with little decorations with juvi's in the tank . ......take out the large rocks and put a peice of driftwwod in the tank insted ....the pleco will love you for this , (driftwood also helps soften water ) ...
hopefully other will chime in soon and will let you know what worked for them as well , this is just what i would do .... your tank looks nice , fish look healthy and your filtration / wc' s are fine . hope this helped ,

Ken

amandalyne
05-13-2009, 07:02 PM