PDA

View Full Version : Potential gill fluke

discolove
05-19-2009, 01:35 AM
I am pretty new to this so bear with me. I have one royal blue discus and he is fairly new. I have only had this guy for going on two weeks. I believe he has a gill fluke. I noticed he was only using one gill to breath. Later after that I see that he switched gills and was using the other instead. Well then today I see that he is using both gills at times, but then only one at other times. I am confused as to what is going on. He was also shaking a bit and opening his gills very wide for a couple of minutes and then he calmed down. I ordered prazipro incase and want to do a treatment just to be sure. I have read different things on and would like to get a straight answer on the dosage, water changes etc... required when treating. Any help is appreciated as I would just like a nice healthy discus.

MRQuad
05-19-2009, 02:21 AM
hi,

welcome to SD!

me and my friend have the same problem too! we have a thread for this too..

you can choose the following..

= 1/4 teasponful per 10G.. 3 days with prazipro, 4 days off, 3 days with prazipro, 4 days off, 3 days with prazipro, 4 days off and one least treatment. this should take care of them all.

= Recommended treatment for safety of fish. Treatment with Prazi has been shown to be effective. Routine = 1/4 teaspoon/20 gallons, wait 48 hours, change 50% water, repeat, continuing for a full 21 days without interruption (Prazi also eliminates tapeworm, do not be surprised if the fish have one, it will come out)

and for the complete thread for your reference..

just click the link:

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=70730

hope that helps..

marvin

kaceyo
05-19-2009, 04:27 PM
Hi Guys,