PDA

View Full Version : Eating Algae? is he sick

Cosmicfig
05-19-2009, 03:25 PM
Sorry Im pretty new to this discus thing and im worried about some of the new fish we got. We recently purchased 5 small discus from a breeder on Saturday. All the little fish are pretty scared and their color is dark. one of them isn't eating but does eat the tufts of algae we have growing over some of our plants at the moment.

A little about the tank Nitrate readings are fairly low, nitrite is 0, ammonia is 0. Ph is around 6.6, It was 6.8 but we put the Co2 dispenser in and that seems to keep it down around 6.6. temp is 86.These guys we bought were in a bare bottom tank and ours is planted. I know that some of them may just be adjusting to the new tank but one isn't eating. He does however eat algae, and my fiancea said he saw him with off white poop that looked clearish in places. I came home that night and he was indeed pooping but it was the normal brownish. But he went strait back to eating algae. We were feeding them frozen blood worms to encourage them to eat and he seemed interested... but just swam into the cloud of bloodworm's. We thought he was going to eat... and he seems like he wanted to.. but he just swam away and ate algae.

I'm worried about some of the little ones too. Some eat but they just peck at bloodworm's and don't seem interested. The breeder fed them beef heart and nothing else...

Im worried about them ive looked for signs of sickness. SOme of the smaller ones seem to clamp one fin every now and then and they get darker when they poop.

thanks
Maegan

Chad Hughes
05-19-2009, 04:41 PM
Sorry Im pretty new to this discus thing and im worried about some of the new fish we got. We recently purchased 5 small discus from a breeder on Saturday. All the little fish are pretty scared and their color is dark. one of them isn't eating but does eat the tufts of algae we have growing over some of our plants at the moment.