PDA

View Full Version : Discus Ich

Crossfire636
05-21-2009, 04:33 PM
Hello everyone.
I am new to keeping discus. I have 7 juvi's (2 1/2 inch), 10 rummy nose and a BN pleco in a 55 gallon tank. The tank is lightly planted. I WC about 5 to 10 gallons everyday. Water params are:

Ammonia 0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 20ppm

I woke up this morning and I always like to check out everyone to make sure everything is on order. I notice on 4 of the 7 discus there are about 4 to 5 white dots on there fins and body (each). They are very small. Smaller then grains of salt. None of the other fish are showing white spots. My temperature was at 84 degrees but I bumped it up to 88. I also added aquarium salt. I will be doing a 50% water change tonight

I know dicus are very sensitive. I know medication should be the last thing i try. Does anyone have any advice they can provide me. Thank you for your time.

Crossfire636
05-21-2009, 05:20 PM
okay I will. Would you know if Quick Cure is any good?

Crossfire636
05-21-2009, 11:15 PM
Sounds good. Thank you for the help. I am going to see if one more day of 88 and salt work. So far they have not gotten any worse. One of the discus lost a few spots. If it persist then i am going to pick up some quick cure. Once again, Thank you

Crossfire636
05-22-2009, 12:11 AM
Yeah, i can not add that much salt. Will temperature alone kill ich? I have rid ich but i am not to sure about it.

Roxanne
05-22-2009, 06:11 AM