PDA

View Full Version : new discus

Totoro
05-28-2009, 06:49 AM
Hi guys,

I've recently started a discus tank.:p I've had them for around 3 months.
Just want to share and get some advices.
Because i'm just a beginner, are there too many things in the tank or anything i'm doing wrong?

Thanks~

mmorris
05-28-2009, 07:58 AM
I'm assuming you just want to know if the tank is too crowded. It would help if you gave us more information. How big is the tank? Are these all adults? What is your water change regime?

Eddie
05-28-2009, 08:01 AM
Nice tank and fish. I like the yellow one alot. They seem happy and healthy in your care. ;)

As Marth mentioned, hard to say if it is overcrowded without knowing all the details.

Take care,

Eddie

Totoro
05-29-2009, 10:04 PM
my tank is 3 by 1 by 2.
I change around 20% of water twice a week.

mmorris
05-29-2009, 11:06 PM
Nine discus in a 44 gallon, planted tank with tank mates is, IMO, seriously overcrowded. They'll probably do better in the long run in a 100 gallon tank doing 50 percent wc every few days. It's a pretty tank and a nice mix of colors though.

poconogal
05-29-2009, 11:26 PM
Nice tank and Discus. I have the exact same tank, a 45 gal., but I don't use it anymore. Sort of gives a panoramic view of things, but for the amount of Discus you have, its way too small. Your WCs are also too small and you'll run into problems down the line. For the amount of Discus you have you need at the very minimum a 75 gal. A 100 gal. would be better and I'd up the WCs too, to at least 50%, twice a week.

Totoro
05-30-2009, 03:19 AM
thanks guys!!

would discus go fine in an arowana tank? :confused:
the water conditions are suitable for discus but i'm worried it would stress my discus out..

the arowana was bought up with other fishes so it shouldn't do harm to the discus..

I'm planning to put 2 discus in there for the time being while i find a bigger tank..

poconogal
05-30-2009, 08:05 AM