PDA

View Full Version : Noob questions i have had trouble getting defenitive answers for

H&K.45
05-30-2009, 03:16 AM
Hi, im new to SD i am tenatively planning a 55 or 75 (depending on space limitations) discus tank, im not new to the aquarium hobby but i have never owned discus, and i really want to. So im doing as much reading and brain picking as i can befor i jump into it. My question is, are their any behavioral or special diffrences between keeping WC discus vs. domesticated ones, in reguards to tank mates, water chem sensativity, space needed, health problems, lifespan. Or are both WC and domesticated the same except for growth rate. Also i have read a lot on useing certian ammounts of peat in storage water, and some of my other readings advise against it, dose anyone do this? is it good/bad/personal preff? Thanks for your time and any insight will be greatly appreciated :D

William Palumbo
05-30-2009, 08:02 AM
I treat my wild Discus like any other Discus I own. In fact, the wilds seem to be more out-going than a lot of my domestics, and will usually be the first ones to eat from my hand. Assuming you aquire HEALTHY wild Discus. I only alter my water chemestry(RO) for my breeding wilds, and that includes the addition of peat. If just being kept in a display tank, peat is not needed...in fact most do not like the way it darkens and stains the water. Keeping wilds for display or growout, most tap-water is fine. To breed them is something different all together, where more than likely your water will need to be altered and the use of peat becomes beneficial...Bill

Elite Aquaria
05-30-2009, 04:30 PM
H&K.45,