PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! One of my discus died!!!

FishCraz
06-06-2009, 08:57 AM
Help! I'm new to discus, just bought 6 fry from Chicago and its been 3 weeks now since I had them. They are about 2"-3". I do 2 - 20% regularly water changes every week. I'm feeding them tetra cichlid flakes and blood-worms. ONE GUY JUST DIP OUT ON ME YESTERDAY!!! :confused: The other guys seems to be doing fine and healthy. They are eating like crazy. I feed them 3-4 times a day. My tank is bare bottom and water ranges at 85-87 degree. Anyone know why it died? And what should I do differently to help prevent them from dying in the future? :(

Also, I want to put them in a lighted tank, but they seem to get really paranoid when the light is turned on. :confused: I know that they don't really like lights, and rather be in a dim lighted tank, but how can I introduce them to light??? :confused:

thebigone
06-06-2009, 10:01 AM
IMO I would start changing more water.I would do a minimum of at least 50% 3-5 times a week. You have to remember as juvies they need more attention then adults. The biggest thing about discus is they need clean clean water to grow properly. The water changing temp. should be fine. If you are on city water you will need to use a dechlorinater. I would suggest Prime. Also IMO I think that they will just need time to get use to the light. I'm no expert but there are others one here that will know more about this then I. This is just what I would do for starters.

mmorris
06-06-2009, 11:06 AM
Sorry about the fish. It's a real bummer, I know. What size tank are they in? You need to get four test kits if you don't have them already: ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph, and you need them TODAY! Do the tests, post the results and we can help you further on that. Did you cycle your tank before you put the fish in? Juvies need to be fed 5-8 times a day and, depending on the size of the tank, I would consider 50% three times a week the absolute minimum.

Ardan