PDA

View Full Version : What sex is my fish... male?

machine77
06-10-2009, 01:28 AM
hi, ive been trying to sex this one fish of mine for awhile, i think its a male, sorry my photos are bad, ha ha i tried to get the best pic possible.. thanks so much for any help given! thought someone out there might know since simply memebers have helped me out so far with everything else!

Eddie
06-10-2009, 01:40 AM
hi, ive been trying to sex this one fish of mine for awhile, i think its a male, sorry my photos are bad, ha ha i tried to get the best pic possible.. thanks so much for any help given! thought someone out there might know since simply memebers have helped me out so far with everything else!

Second picture is blurry but from the first and third it gives the impression of a female. I am no expert but just seems so. :o

Eddie

machine77
06-10-2009, 01:41 AM
thanks eddie, what exactly do you looks for in order to sex male from female?

Eddie
06-10-2009, 01:47 AM
thanks eddie, what exactly do you looks for in order to sex male from female?

Couldn't tell you, just something that stands out, I could be totally wrong. Just my opinion. Others will have ideas.

Eddie

machine77
06-10-2009, 01:59 AM
ok cool, thanks for your help!!!

bs6749
06-10-2009, 10:39 PM
I also think that it's a female. I'm looking at the roundness at the back part of the dorsal fin. Males are usually pointed and not as round. This isn't a guaranteed method of sexing though. It's just one of those things that if the dorsal fin is pointed then it's most likely a male. Not necessarily true in the reverse.

machine77
06-11-2009, 01:56 AM
i appriciate everyones help, its nice to learn how alot of people sex them, im just learning. so if its round and flat down there its more likely a female, verses pointed would be more like a male? i can see that its more round and flat after you said that, i went and check it out..

bs6749
06-11-2009, 03:09 PM