PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong here?

Alfred
06-16-2009, 04:32 PM
I'm no expert esp. when it comes to disease.
I have been raising Discus for 3 years now and this is a scenario that happens once in a while and almost always with the same end results, death.
All my juvee tanks are BB 86 F with daily 50% or more WC depending on how crowded the tank is.

Once in awhile I get a fish that looses color, stops eating and hangs out away from the group, this is usually followed by a couple of other fish over a few days or wks.
The cause, water, the water is not clean enough or the tank is over crowded.
OK I know that.
Prevention is the answer for this first.

My question is how you handle it when it happens.
I normally up the WC, turn up the temp to 90 and hope the fish comes around and eats. If after 4 or 5 days or when I can see the fish is not improving or I see a stringy grey poo I pull the fish, put him in 10 or 20 gal hospital tank up the temp to 92 F, up the air and treat with metro powder .45 grams to 20 gal.
I then feed metro flake once a day until I see them eat and then go to twice a day. I continue the metro for 5-7 days doing a 50% wc and re dose daily, if they are eating I stop the water metro treatment at this time and continue the met flake feeding for a week or 2. Very seldom do this fish ever make it this far.
Why is my success rate so poor with treatments?
Is it the wrong treatment.
I had 7 2.5" fish in the hospital tank. Now after 3 days of treatment 1 looks worse, really sluggish hanging out at surface like he needs oxygen.He also looks like he is getting bloated even though he is not eating, this just started yesterday. I lost 2 fish last night. The other 4 are not near the surface. I have 2 air stones plus a hang on filter going.

Ardan
06-16-2009, 06:15 PM
How many fish in what size tank?
Is the ph stable for wc's?

Sounds like the fish get stressed from something.
What do you feed?