PDA

View Full Version : Magic trick?

dvc_r
06-28-2009, 09:22 PM
Hi all, I just want to first say thank you, you all have fantastic advice and info regarding this hobby! I've been surfing the web for about eight months (since I started my Discus tank) and find this to be the most informative site yet.

I purchased two Discus Jan 26th 2009, one was a blue turq, the other a blue snakeskin. If you see my profile, I have a picture of them for my album cover.
I've had them for six months, they have grown from about 3.5" to about 5".
There hackle lines pretty much disappeared in the first month and they both have turned into this brilliant electric blue color! They are absolutely beautiful but now I can't tell them apart! How can they be so different as juvies and exactly the same a few months later? Is it Magic?

Rick S
06-29-2009, 09:49 PM
I believe the snakeskin is the one on the right.

dvc_r
07-16-2009, 11:11 PM
Before and After

Discus-n00b
07-16-2009, 11:21 PM
Before, Snakeskin on the right Turq/Cobalt...whatever it is (Looks more like a cobalt to me though) on the left.
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/picture.php?albumid=64&pictureid=544

I guess this is after? I'd say thats the Snakeskin on the Left in this one. See how you can see some striations and patterns on its face and fill plates? Also it looks like the pattern on its Dorsal fin is a much more finer pattern.
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/picture.php?albumid=64&pictureid=601

Heres another picture, this is your Snakeskin. See how fine the pattern is? Its not in larger smoother striations
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/picture.php?albumid=64&pictureid=594

I'd be inclined to classify these two discus as a Cobalt (Turq) and a Blue Scorpion (Snakeskin)

dvc_r
07-16-2009, 11:32 PM
I tend to agree with you.