PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Central Ca and Bay Area

D!NGO
07-05-2009, 10:43 AM
Hi,

I just wanted to finally say hello to everyone here. Since joining this site, I've been reading a lot of great advises and have picked up some excellent tips along the way. I have been a fish hobbyist (fresh, salt, reef, pond, etc.) for almost 30 years and I still find that I have a lot to learn. Hopefully I can repay by giving someone else my advise to help make their hobby more enjoyable.

I am not really new here but I've been putting off my intro because of a disaster two winters ago (here is the thread: http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?p=551383#post551383). This year, because of it, I've been busy setting up a fish room in the garage and moving the fish from the shed that was in my backyard.

After that disaster that wiped out almost all my discus, I was left with just 5 survivors out of 150+. From this group of 5 survivors, I was blessed with one pair that would eventually help me get back on my feet. They have spawned numerous times and each time I pulled the babies, they would have eggs again a week later.

For now I will share a few pics of the pair that gave so much pleasure to continue this wonderful hobby. Without these two fish, I would have surely given up.

Here are some pics of them with their first batch from frys to adulthood. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

First pic is the Father with 5 day old frys.
Second is Mom with 18 day old.
Third is the babies at 4 weeks.
Fourth is at 3 months.
Last is at 11 months.

Derek

Ed13
07-05-2009, 10:58 AM
I guess it's an overdue welcome Derek.

Nice discus you got there! Very little pepper even with fry on their backs! Tiger PB? From Tony Tan?

Disgirl
07-05-2009, 12:07 PM
Welcome Derek! Beautiful fish and wonderful pics too! I have a good friend who lives in French Camp.
Barb :)

rich815
07-05-2009, 12:38 PM
Those are beautiful!

discusvast
07-05-2009, 03:49 PM
those are awesome