PDA

View Full Version : 150 gallon "tall" good for Discus?

lordbones
07-06-2009, 06:41 PM
I have a friend who wants to sell me his wood grain 150 gallon 48x24x31 tank/stand/hood & light for $300 & it is practically new.

Since I am new to Discus I am not sure as to whether I want to get this set up or not although it is a great deal money wise.

My interest lies in a nice planted show tank with Discus so I am not sure if this 150 will be what I want or not.

Can anyone tell me if Discus would enjoy a tall tank like this or would there be a lot of wasted gallons in this particular size?

Thanks everyone, I love this forum! :)

Chad Hughes
07-06-2009, 06:51 PM
For the price, this would be an EXCELLENT tank for semi adult to adult discus. I wouldn't recommend fry or juvies as this tank would be very difficult to clean with all that feeding going on. That is an awesome deal! I'm sure others will post their opinions.

Stem plants do incredibly well in tall tanks and they look fantastic!

Best wishes!

H&K.45
07-06-2009, 10:27 PM
If you got the space for it i would jump on it, 300 bones for a 150 w/stand is a deal, and yea you could definately grow some honker's as far as plants go in a 150 tall, thats what my buddy used for his cold water tank and he has some monster plants in that thing lol, as far as discus go, i would agree with avionics b/c he knows more about the fish than I do.

lordbones
07-07-2009, 01:18 AM
Cool! Sounds good! I will definitely get the ball rolling to aquire this tank then.

Two questions:

What "stem plants" would anyone recommend for such a tall tank?

I plan to stock the tank with adult Discus, in which I will probably start with 3 at first...how many is the max I should try to keep in the 150? I don't want to overstock but surely I could have a nice collection as well. Thoughts?

Thank you! :)

Sandip
07-07-2009, 01:55 AM
Thats a big tank, anyone would love to have it.