PDA

View Full Version : ro unit questions...

utiliy
07-08-2009, 11:42 AM
im new to the ro thingy, i bought a cheapy off the bay for 85 bucks...does it usually take a long time to fill a storage barrel, or is my water pressure to low?

DiscusOnly
07-08-2009, 11:59 AM
RO unit are usually rated with gallons per day. You probably got one that produces 25-50 gallons per day. Yes, it does take a very long time to fill a storage barrel and the amount of waste water produce could be 4 or more times of the clean water.

The flow restrictor is what controls the rate of clean water being produce. You will need to upgrade that along with the membrane if you want a higher gpd. You may/may not need a booster pump as you increase the membrane capability.

That's why it's makes sense to have float valve kit and auto shutoff for RO unit so that you don't have to worry about it. Other important accessories are pressure gauge and inline TDS meter.

utiliy
07-08-2009, 12:28 PM
thx...i been reading about the tds thing-i have a meter on the way. i think its a 75g a day ro unit-which is about right for what its producing. ill be using this water for breeding purposes only in a 29g tank.
thanks for the info.
Rich

Ardan
07-08-2009, 06:30 PM
a booster pump helps too. this increases the pressure to around 100 psi and results in more RO in less time.

hth
Ardan

utiliy
07-16-2009, 09:09 AM
ok-i have a booster pump on the way...right now my tds is 43 in the storage barrel-without the booster. with the booster it should be around 0? do i just add a little tap to make it 50-80? and do i have to add any buffers or anything. if its not pure ro-i dont have to add anything else?

DiscusOnly
07-16-2009, 09:48 AM