PDA

View Full Version : potted plants questions

rickztahone
07-21-2009, 01:58 AM
i didn't want to keep bugging Bryan and Chad any further so i decided to start a thread (thanks to both of you btw, extremely helpful!). this is what i am getting so far:
green wendtii
amazon sword
rosette sword
java fern (on driftwood)
anubias afzelli

i'm getting these because it says that they are easy to grow on the descriptions. i do not want to just jump into planted with extremely difficult plants. so, my question would be, out of the plants on that list (minues the fern), can i just simply plant it into the pot as soon as it arrives? do i need to trim any of them, do something special? i know i'm a complete plant noob but i would appreciate a gentle nudge in the right direction.

i currently have 4x65w 6700 k's CF bulbs in my 125. i will start with 4 pots, each for each plant. i have eco complete as substrate. i'm really not clear on the fact about fertz to be quite honest. i saw this page
http://www.aquariumplants.com/AquariumPlants_com_s_own_SUBSTRATE_VITALIZATION_p/fert.htm
and didn't know if i had to order any. if so, which? :confused:
i know Chad actually has to add Nitrates into his tank because of the tank consumption of them, so would i need that as well? i will not be using co2.

i've read about plants reading from the water column and from the substrate, how do you fert the water? does this affect the fish?

i'll leave this onslaught of questions to a minimum for now or else no one will want to answer my post, lol. i've read most of the stickies and they have been very helpful so far.

bs6749
07-21-2009, 07:58 AM