PDA

View Full Version : help with how many discus

partycub23
07-22-2009, 11:22 PM
hello everyone so im new to the discus hobby i've been interested in them for quite a while, so after alot of research i've decided that i really want to get some discus. I have quite a bit of experience with fish, i've mostly kept fancy goldfish indoors and out, but now im venturing onto the tropical side. The tank that im planning on housing the discus is a 55g with a 30g sump in wich total volume is around 65 to 70g. The system has been running for four months fully cycled, in there i have 15 cardinals 5 cories and 2 german blue rams. My question is how many discus can i house in here? Im soon starting a 30g planted aquarium that i might be moving the rams to, so either w/ or without the rams i wanted at least two, preferrably four, but i think that would really be pushing it, i need ur advice.

hasitha
07-22-2009, 11:36 PM
You are gonna buy juvies or adult discus ? 6 is the best number for Juvies I think. Agression will be spread out so it would be better. I don't know 55g tank is enough for discus with those other fish you have. Also bare bottom tanks are lot better for growth and cleaning process than planted tanks.

partycub23
07-22-2009, 11:42 PM
i was planning on getting juvies and growing them out in a separate tank, so howmany fish would i have to move out to at least have a couple of discus in my tank

Eddie
07-23-2009, 12:51 AM
Personally, I would go with 5-6 adults. If you are gonna grow some juvies out as your first experience with discus, get them at 3 inches or bigger. I would just get adults anyways, it will be a better first experience and then try to grow some juvenile fish out. Juvenile discus are not forgiving IMO.

Eddie

jaykne
07-23-2009, 01:41 AM