PDA

View Full Version : help a lfs employee

RandomTabby
07-28-2009, 03:37 AM
Ok so here's the scoop. I have been keeping and breeding fresh water fish for nine years now, and keeping reef tanks for a year. About 14 months ago I started working at my lfs and loving it. I started reading up on discus about 6 months ago and really loving them, they are truly mesmerizing.
I have never owned my own discus, I have only experience caring for the ones at the store. Because of this I feel I have never seen a truly healthy discus. They come in from the supplier looking stressed, sometimes with torn fins (!?) and take a day or two to recover to the point of all swimming normally and eating. Then the problems usually start. They get dark and milky and stop eating (or try to eat but either miss or spit it out) and hide. Their tank is 48 gallons, kept at 84F, ph 6. It has a fluval 1, fluval 4 (both submersibles) and heater. They eat Hikari’s frozen blood worms, spirulina brine and sometimes mysis; I offer pellets but they never swallow them. Their tank used to be a show tank with gravel, Manzanita wood, plants, ancistrus, japonica shrimp, all our zebra snails, and too many schooling fish. I finally convinced the boss to let me turn it into a bare tank, and I thought (perhaps naively) that this would lead to quick positive results. Not much happened.
So, as per the book “asian discus”, I followed the author’s suggestion to give them a ½ hr formalin dip and then lower the water level to twice the height of the fish and add salt “as much as the fish will tolerate”, I usually go up to 1 TEAspoon per gallon. They are kept this way for 3-4 days, given no food, and a big WC daily. This in the past has given me positive results, although the fish never looked as good as I think they should.