PDA

View Full Version : Hi all Thanks 4 the great site

calgarydiscus
07-28-2009, 08:10 AM
my name is nick and i have been keeping discus for about 3 months now. have had cichlids (that breed) and many other various fresh water fish. I currently have 3 discus all purchased from the same store a BD and a maui red i think, (the asian fellow selling the fish told me thats what it was...) or was that rio red i cant remember... and a turquoise snakeskin witch has stress bars and is much more aggresive than the other 2 . I think that the BD has parisites because he is loosing color from the back of its top and botton fins (thay are going transparent) and they are blackening at the tips i raised the temp from 86 to 88 (also had free floating worms in the tank), ph 6.5, 80/20 RO/TAP. in a 25 gallon with an aquaclear 30 an ceramic airstone.
what should my hardness be?
should i use blackwater extract ?
should i use discus buffer? witch brand?
should i add salt how much?
should i use peat?
should i have drift wood?

Also who ships to canada or where in canada could i buy decent breeding stock?? also i cannot find metro bits or prazi bits in canada??
the fellow at the LFS also said that the little holes where not hole in the head and they where vent holes lol...
fish seem happy a little skiddish but theres only3

discus_newbie
07-28-2009, 08:15 AM
Welcome to Simply!!! I'm not professional YET so I'm not going to give any advice (incase they're wrong) but I'm sure members here will help you very soon. Again Welcome !!!

Patr1ck
07-30-2009, 04:41 AM