PDA

View Full Version : questions from a rookie,,,more to come

uncle white
08-11-2009, 11:59 AM
Hello everyone! If you read my first post then you know I am a rookie and been lurking here for awhile now. I have a few questions to start with today and am greatful for suggestions, comments, etc.
1.) First off what type of testing equipment do you use for water testing? I see lots of kits from a google search with quite a difference on prices. I need a suggestion on a kit to buy and where. Also I assume most are using Ph pens or such for Ph readings. What's a good reliable cheaper one?
2.) Providing my water parameters are incheck, (I'll know about that when I get my test kit) can I do WC with my tap water adjusted to correct temp? Adding Prime to the tank at the same time? Instead of the storage deal? Is any type of filtering needed for the tap water? First tanks will be for raising juvies.
3.) Let's say I set my tank up and have it running uncycled. When I visit a breeder to buy my first discus, could I get a sponge filter or filter media from them to put in my tank along with the new fish to get it cycled? The fish I purchase will be the only thing going into the tank. If I do that, how long should I let the seeded filter run before adding my discus?
4.) Oh, here's my plan for my juvie detention center:
55 Gal BB tank four foot long to match a stand I have. Will use a HOB 110 Aqua Clear with two sponge filters in it and a air driven sponge filter inside the tank. I'll use two heaters in each tank, what size should I use for the 55? Was thinking about the Jagers?? Did I miss anything? Suggestions?

OK, I'll stop for this morning, but Noon is only two minutes away here, so I'll be back this Afternoon... THANKS...uncle white

mmorris
08-11-2009, 01:04 PM
Hi Uncle White,