PDA

View Full Version : Oceanic 175g bow front

José72
08-12-2009, 04:33 PM
Hi Guys,

I've been keeping freshwater fish for about ten years, but I'm new at keeping discus. I never thought it was going to be so addictive. :) Anyways...I basically ran out of space and decide to buy a 175g bow front Oceanic with two overflows. This is my first "large" aquarium and I need suggestions on the type of filtration to use. Some say to use a wet/dry and some say to use two canister filters. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

rickztahone
08-12-2009, 04:40 PM
Hi Guys,

I've been keeping freshwater fish for about ten years, but I'm new at keeping discus. I never thought it was going to be so addictive. :) Anyways...I basically ran out of space and decide to buy a 175g bow front Oceanic with two overflows. This is my first "large" aquarium and I need suggestions on the type of filtration to use. Some say to use a wet/dry and some say to use two canister filters. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

many would opt for wet/dry especially because you have 2 overflows. im a canister guy and i would put 2 fx5's or a couple eheims. how stocked do you plan on being?

José72
08-12-2009, 04:42 PM
I'm planning on having discus only, and as many as I can keep on the tank without over crowding.

rickztahone
08-12-2009, 04:49 PM
I'm planning on having discus only, and as many as I can keep on the tank without over crowding.

if you plan on doing just discus, no substrate, no plants, no tankmates then you can have 17 in there theoretically. keep in mind that all adults do not get along and you should have separate tanks to keep aggression in check and some for medication/observation. where do plan on getting the discus?

José72
08-12-2009, 05:12 PM
I have 15 young discus from 2" to 4" now on a 55g. I'm doing 50% w/c every other day. I have the 175g and another 55g that are empty, planning on keeping one 55g for my albino strains and the rest on the 175g.

DonMD
08-12-2009, 05:41 PM