PDA

View Full Version : Yes I want a Discus Tank...

evallarta1
08-19-2009, 11:19 AM
Hi All :wave:

I have just aquired a 55 gal tank and stand and have always loved looking at Discus so I figured now was the time. After snooping around here for a while I have realized they are a lot of work (and I though salt water was bad). My current setups include a 75 gal reef tank w/30 gal custom sump. And a 55 gal tropical aggressive tank. I have about 18 years of experience with fish so I think I am up to the challenge of discus. Here is my current set up

55 gal tank
fluval 405
85 lbs mixture of eco-complete and gravel (yes this will be a planted tank)

I will be using ro/di mixed with treated tap water for water changes. Currently the tank has been set up for 3 days now. My plan of act will be to get the plants up and established. Then slow adding fish and then adding the discus last. I plan on doing this over about a 2 month period. With saltwater you HAVE to take your time to keep from overloading the bioload. And its sounds like discus is about the same.

Im looking about about 5 adult discus (dont have time to raise them from babies). About 10 - 15 cardinals, 3-4 corys, 1-2 plecos. And MAYBE if things go right 2 rams.

I still have a lot of equipment get, ie heater, light etc. But is there anything else I should take into consideration?

Chad Hughes
08-19-2009, 11:21 AM
What part of the country are you in?

evallarta1
08-19-2009, 11:29 AM
Collinsville IL, just outside St Louis

Cooldadddyfunk286
08-19-2009, 11:59 AM