PDA

View Full Version : Advise needed

Marywouters
09-07-2009, 04:55 AM
Hi

I have 3 breeding tanks on top of a sump, with on top of the breeding tanks a dry filter to bring the water back to the breeding tanks. I have tried to breed with different couples, but they always eat their young. I have tried changes in the µS from anywhere between 250 to 80 µS, with no result. The PH however always goes back up to 8 or even 8.2 after a day. I think this is the reason for my lack of succes.
Would it be advisible to take the dry filter out of the system and to let the water flow back into the breeding tanks through tubes that bring the water to the middle of the tank or even to the bottom?
That way I would also be able to shut off one of the tanks from the system to filter over a sponge filter or to let the level of the water down.
My sump is sterilized by a UV sterilizer to avoid spreading of diseases.

Mary

Dutch dude
09-07-2009, 03:55 PM
Hi Mary,

I'm rather new to breeding discus so I can only share my expirienses so far.

I have 3 pairs out of 6 fish and 2 pairs turn out to be good parents. The one pair always eat eggs or the male just refuses to properly fertilize the eggs. The two good pair need quit a number of spawns to get it right. They have eaten at least 10 spawns each. So if your pairs are young inexperienced or have been moved to the new breeding tanks recently they might just need more time.

I think it is always a good idea to have the possibility to short cut the pump driven filtration or at least have the possibility to run it very slow like 100 liter an hour. A sponge filter would be perfect! Remember to shut down air stones for the first 3 day's of free swimming.