PDA

View Full Version : Stocking In-Wall 180gal Show Tank

Hobbyist
09-15-2009, 08:26 AM
Hello,

First post here, I'm an experienced hobbyist though. I'm looking for stocking advice on a 180 gallon I'm currently setting up. I would like advice on substrate, fish stocking, and plants.

Details of tank, lighting, decor so far:
Standard 180 gallon acrylic tank
2 x 48" Nova T5
Flitration 2 x Eheim pro 3 (Or maybe 1 Pro3 and either pro2 or 2229 wet dry)
Back ground is an aquaterra rainforest root system
3 pieces of driftwood
Pleco caves

Fish list so far:
Discus
Zebra plecos (currently have 6, I'll put 4 in the tank as I'd like to breed a pair)
Another pleco group (inspector maybe)
Marble hatchet fish
Cardinals
Rummy nose tetras
German Rams and maybe another apisto
Cories
Ottos

I'd like the tank to be a show setup.

Questions I have:
How many Discus? Should I mix strains? (I would like to)
Should I add another type of hypan pleco or maybe something else?
How many hatchet fish? Thoughts on hatchet fish in general...
Cardinals a good idea? How many?
Rummynose tetras a good idea? How many
Should I add another apisto other than rams or are rams even a good idea.
Which cory can stand discus temps the best? Should I bother with the plecos I plan to stock?
Are ottos really so bad with discus? Should I add snails instead?
What about shrimp? I like CRS, but would prefer something from south america.
Any suggestions of fish to add or remove?
Which substrate should I use? I was going to use black estes but have read that this is not the best way to display discus. I would imagine ecco complete would be the same idea...
I would like to add a couple live plants, but don't want to dose with ferts or CO2.

If you think of something I didn't, don't be shy.

Thanks in advance. I'll post pics of the completed tank.

poconogal
09-15-2009, 10:50 AM
Hi and welcome to SD!