PDA

View Full Version : Newbie 60g tank

jc1of2
09-20-2009, 05:54 PM
Hey, guys first off thanks for all the great info on this sight. I have always wanted to keep discus in a planted tank and this is my first attempt after finding this website. I have a few question if you don't mind. First, let me give you some background. I've kept fish since I was a child back in the days of incandescent bulbs and UG filters. I currently have a 180 gallon mixed reef tank and a 30g seahorse tank. Lately I have been feeling burned out on the saltwater tanks. With a newborn in the house I just don't have the time for water changes and maintenance like I should. Right now my reef tank is covered in hair algae and half of my sps corals have died. I am considering breaking down the tank and selling off all of my fish and coral. I would like to take this 60g and move it into the 180. Everything has been running so great on the planted tank that I believe I would have an easier time tending to the 180 if it were freshwater. I guess it depends on the answers to some my questions.
1. I used swimming pool sand as a substrate and added flourish fert tabs under most of the plants per the instructions. Growth is great. Is this a viable option for long term care? I don't mind adding the tablets whenever I need to.
2. Do I have to worry about the sand impacting? Could I rake and poke the sand every month to prevent this from happening?
3. Right now I'm using Seachem Flourish brand of liquid ferts, NPK and fundamental pack. I only dose them when I do a water change once a week. Is this good enough? My plants don't seem to be complaning.
4. Since my 180 is reef ready what would be the better option? Keeping the sump or closing the drains and using two canister filters on either end? Should I use my vortech mp40w on the freshwater tank for circulation?

Thanks for your help. Also, the tank has been running with plants and discus since June.

http://i314.photobucket.com/albums/ll412/jc1of2/009.jpg