PDA

View Full Version : Water additives

05 LL Stang
09-29-2009, 01:44 PM
All,
So I am fairly new to this whole discus world, and I now have found something that seems to work. My fish seem healthier, more active and a better appetite, but I wanted to see what you guys thought or what you do:

WC 50% every three days
Age the water 24 hours before each change
Add PH buffers and 1 TBSP of salt for every 8-9 gallons during the aging process.

I have been againg for a couple of months now, but I just started the salt 10 days ago. It really seemed to help the fish, it is amazing how much their appetite has increased. Question is, can I do this long term?

Jeff

Chad Hughes
09-29-2009, 01:54 PM
Why did you add Ph buffer and salt? Just curious.

What are your water parameters out of the tap?

You should be able to do well with just tap assuming that your tap is not super soft, mineral free water. Some folks have that issue depending on where their water comes from.

Best wishes!

05 LL Stang
09-29-2009, 02:13 PM
Why did you add Ph buffer and salt? Just curious.

Ph buffers were added because I was getting spikes in my PH. The buffers did not seem to help so I removed my rocks, which I thought were inert, and it seems to have stabalized my water. After the rocks were replaced I just never stopped adding the buffers.

The salt is because I think I have a problem with Gill Flukes, in fact I am going start a salt dip treatment when I get home.

What are your water parameters out of the tap?
PH is just above 7 and the KH is below 2

Chad Hughes
09-29-2009, 02:17 PM
Ph buffers were added because I was getting spikes in my PH. The buffers did not seem to help so I removed my rocks, which I thought were inert, and it seems to have stabalized my water. After the rocks were replaced I just never stopped adding the buffers.

The salt is because I think I have a problem with Gill Flukes, in fact I am going start a salt dip treatment when I get home.