PDA

View Full Version : general questions

fireman5214
10-07-2009, 10:40 AM
Hi all, as you can see this is my first post in this forum. I am new to discus but have had a tropical fish tank for about 15 years now. I now have 2 tanks, 20 and 29 gallon. Looking for a 3rd tank 55 or more for discus. Both of my current tanks are planted light to moderatly but this is the first year for a planted tank for me as the other years my 20 gallon was only plastic plants. So here are the few questions I have had after doing alot of research through google, yahoo, msn.

Are all discus from the Amazon? I saw some traders on here that said they have imports from Taiwan, China, and Malaysia. Are these just imported from there or are they native to those lands as well?

Is Reverse Osmosis needed or no? Some have said they need that to survive but others say they do not have RO and they have kept discus for years.

I have read 5 gallons per discus is fine for adults. Some say that 10 is fine for an adult?

I would like to try to breed discus some time. I have seen some breeders have substrate and some don't. I have seen "wars" over yes or no for substrate for breeding. I was thinking that if I ue substrate, live plants to help filter water (not heavily planted) a rock or 2 for egg laying, Water changes with water siphoning, parameter checks, biological filtration, (probably more filtration then required) Example - 50 gallon and 20 gallon sufficient filters both running on a 55 gallon tank. I prefer to have more filtration then not enough.