PDA

View Full Version : Help me with my set-up.

stephcps
11-02-2009, 08:59 PM
So I'm getting ready to set-up my 150 show tank. I bought it off craigslist for 300 bucks. It came with a nice wet/dry setup that I plan to use, though I have no experience with them. I am going to start off with a 160 watt TEK retrofit lighting fixture with the geismen (sp?) bulbs in my canopy. I am going to use the reef keeper lite controller for everything. I will have two heaters...one in sump, one in tank. There will be sand substrate for most of the tank with some planted areas of ecocomplete. I have a sweet piece of manzanita coming. The back is going to be painted (Krylon watermelon stolen from Mattinhouston!) No fancy water change stuff right now or CO2. Strictly low tech.

The stock will be 6 subadult discus (bought from Hedut a few months ago), All 4-4.5 inches, 20 diamond tetras currently out of quarantine and ready to go. Several juvie BN plecos (acouple albino longfin, couple brown white tip longfin, and a couple regular fin chocolate). I am also going to have a school of harlequin rasboros, and a school of Botia kubotai...numbers still to be determined. Evaentually a few more discus, but not for awhile.
The plants will be combo of stuf I already have...pennywort, java fern, crypts, broadleaf sag.
I plan on weekly 50% water change.

So, a few questions:
The guy at my LFS told me not to use the bioballs.

So, what media are people using in their wet/dry filters?
I have noticed a lot of people use a canister and a wet/dry. Will the wet/dry alone be sufficient?

Are there any pointers from all you out there? Anything I haven't thought about or suggestions you may have?
Thanks to everyone for such a great forum..I have learned so much from all of you!!

Steph

tcyiu
11-02-2009, 09:37 PM