PDA

View Full Version : Mature 90G planted tank...

theblondskeleton
11-16-2009, 02:51 PM
I tend to be a bit long-winded so bear with me...

Admittedly, I'm a noob to discus. I have created a very stable and healthy planted tank to which I would like to add discus. Here are my tank specs as of now:

Gear:
90 Gallon AGA
XP3 filter
Pressurized CO2 with in-line reactor, pH controlled at 6.2
18W UV filter active 12hrs/day
300W Marineland Stealth Heater
324W T5HO Light (don't freak out! The lights are only on full for 3 hours a day)
PPS method fertilization

Flora:
Pogostemon Stellatus 'broad leaf'
Hemianthus Callatrichoides
Cryptocoryne wendtii 'red'
Limnophila Aromatica
Blyxa aubertii
Blyxa japonica
Hemianthus Micranthemoides

Current Fauna:
17 Harlequin Rasboras
3 German Blue Rams
1 BN plec
1 Farlowella Acus
6-8 otocinclus
4-6 White Cloud Minnows
4 dwarf gouramis
2 veiled angels

Now, I'm in no rush. The tank is mature, stable, and healthy, and isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Most discus enthusiasts appear to be focused on raising the fastest-growing, most attractive fish, while the environment they are kept in is sterile and barren of any decor (as it is the method to achieving their stated goal). Of course, I am also devoted to keeping my fish healthy - there is no question of that. But, I also want to maintain a balance between my plants (which I work very hard to maintain) and the discus I wish to keep.

Granted: a tall order. However, I have exquisite patience, dedication, and this is really my only hobby - so I don't mind working a bit to make it happen.

Here's the plan: