PDA

View Full Version : Got c02 tank and gauges.....

tcmemphisbbq
11-16-2009, 09:37 PM
So pepsi guy leaves me an extra tank and gauges, what else do I need to use co2 in my tank? Im a complete newb to co2 in aquariums (beer another story LOL case i love me homebrew)......

Thanks for advice in advance...

alan j t
11-16-2009, 09:39 PM
whats the specs of your tank you plan on putting the co2 on?

tcmemphisbbq
11-16-2009, 09:48 PM
125 - 8 discus, 2 angels, various plants I want to thrive....I know my lights are quite adequate yet, running about 1.7 watts/gal - I got the plants from a buddy who sells them on aquabid and does alot of plant shows and such, all of what he gave me he said he thought would handle the lower lights.

I know this is gonna sound newbish but do those co2 tabs work you see at lfs's? I figure I got the tank and gauges, not using them for beer right now and the tank is a big so I can prob run lines and use it for both LOL...

Here is a pic -

http://tcmemphisbbq.com/tank/11-16/CIMG0469.JPG

Discus are hiding cause I was just messing in thier tank -

Thanks,

tcmemphisbbq
11-16-2009, 09:51 PM
He also gave me a matt of riccia which Ive got matted under eggcrate and its already starting to peek through, I left some of it floating on top so it will grow together and matt up and then I can put more under eggcrate, evenually the whole front will be a blanket, will have to keep it trimmed so it doesnt go nuts but should look pretty cool...

Sharkbait
11-16-2009, 09:59 PM
Hi TC,

Just taking a quick look at your tank....it seems to me that with your current plant stock, you have mostly low light plants that would not require the addition of C02. My suggestion would be to simply dose ferts as normal, put some root tabs in, and dose Flourish Excel as your carbon supplement. Unless you plan on getting more intricate with your plant assortment, I think this would be fine.