PDA

View Full Version : Planning a discus tank... newbie here...

dennt503
12-02-2009, 10:35 PM
Hi guys,

my name is ardenn. I am from toronto, canada. Lemme start by thanking people who run this forum. Lots of very helpful stuff!

Here goes my story...

I have kept discus and other freshwater back in the Philippines when I was a teen (about a decade ago). I would say I had some success (kept them alive). Now i wanna get back into fishkeeping. I've considered some other fish (mbuna among others), but i keep on thinking about keeping Discus. I currently have a 90 G and plan to keep adults for display (i dont intend to breed) only. I also intend to keep it bare bottom.

But here's the thing. Due to my job, i'd only be home 4 days in a week. and would only be able to do water changes 2 x/week max. But my dad would be able to feed the fish everyday...

Pls tell me what u think guys. I really really wanna keep discus. But do u guys think my schedule could work somehow? Thanks

ardenn

Scribbles
12-03-2009, 12:24 AM
Welcome to Simply Ardenn! As long as you don't overstock and feed cleaner types of food you shouldn't have any problem with 2x a week water changes.

Chris

csarkar001
12-03-2009, 12:29 AM
alternatively, you can invest in an automatic water changing system.

dennt503
12-03-2009, 10:51 PM
i dont think i can afford automation at the moment..

dennt503
12-03-2009, 10:52 PM
Thanks, CHris! what type of filtration would be good for a 90g considering I'd only do 2 water changes a week?

Scribbles
12-03-2009, 11:19 PM
You have lots of options, it just depends on what you like. You could go with sponges, hang on back (HOB), or a canister. IMO these 3 are the easiest to set up. If you get a drilled tank and have the room you could set up a sump.

Chris

zamboniMan
12-03-2009, 11:53 PM