PDA

View Full Version : How to set discus after long 14 hour jorney

champak
12-12-2009, 02:36 AM
Hello all out there,
I am a newbie to discus so have some doubts if some one can guide.
I wanted to know how you all members set newly arrived fish traveling 12 to 14 hours journey to your tank.
What are the ways to reduce stress to fish before putting it in to the tank.

Eddie
12-12-2009, 03:01 AM
Hello all out there,
I wanted to know how you all members set newly arrived fish traveling 12 to 14 hours journey to your tank.

Do you mean acclimation? This depends on several factors. Alot of folks do the drop and plop method. Dropping the bag into the tank for specified period until the temperature is about the same as tank and then scooping the fish out of the bag and plopping the fish in the tank.

I drip acclimate, always, no matter what the time in travel. This is entirely personal preference.

Keep the lights out and thats it, nothing special. Sometimes I'll throw in some salt if there is a little fin/skin damage from shipment.

Eddie

Double Up
12-12-2009, 03:06 AM
I take an air hose and use it to slowly add water from the tank they will be going in to the shipping/transport box/cooler. Just a little at a time, I keep the hose out of the water as to add oxygen as the water pours into the shipping/transport recepticle. I add alittle at a time over 30 mins or so and then they should be good to go! Check the temp though

champak
12-12-2009, 03:21 AM
I have ph at higher side then the breeders tank.
Ph:-8.6
Tds:-210 ppm

Breeders tank APPROX 7 PH
tds 60-80 ppm

Would this discus from breeder would survive my water parameters?

Thanks all of you for helping me

Eddie
12-12-2009, 03:26 AM
I have ph at higher side then the breeders tank.
Ph:-8.6
Tds:-210 ppm

Breeders tank APPROX 7 PH
tds 60-80 ppm

Would this discus from breeder would survive my water parameters?

Thanks all of you for helping me