PDA

View Full Version : Please identify these discus ?

Fishy knickers
12-16-2009, 09:45 PM
I am very new to discus keeping discus - so please forgive me for being a bit dumb if they're an obvious breed.But what are they?

And are they any good?

Thanks

hedut
12-16-2009, 09:48 PM
I'm not expert but the look like :) first one some kinda Red turq and second kinda tiger pattern so tiger turq. they beautifull good luck;)

Fishy knickers
12-16-2009, 10:01 PM
If I could raise fry from these - what are they likely to turn out like? One of the parents or a mix?:confused:

Eddie
12-16-2009, 10:06 PM
Looks like a Red Spotted Green and a Red Turq.

If you crossed these, you'd get a mix similar to the parents, IMO.

HTH

Eddie

kaceyo
12-17-2009, 04:27 PM
Both Red Turq's. They should produce some excellent fry.

Kacey

joanr
12-17-2009, 04:57 PM
Turq #1 is very nice, but #2 is a stunner! You really lucked out with these two, were they sold to you as a proven pair?

vss
12-17-2009, 08:07 PM
I'd say the first look like a red diamond, kinda a cross of spotted fish and red turq. The second one is a red turq. Both look great. If you cross these two, I guess most of the fry will be more like turqs.

-Xiaofei :)

Eddie
12-17-2009, 08:14 PM
I'd say the first look like a red diamond, kinda a cross of spotted fish and red turq. The second one is a red turq. Both look great. If you cross these two, I guess most of the fry will be more like turqs.

-Xiaofei :)

Even better, a Red Diamond. Good call!

Eddie

bs6749
12-17-2009, 10:02 PM
First one to me looks like a leopard from a line that has been inbred multiple generations. Don't get me wrong, it's still a nice fish but the spots are starting to run together and look more like the lines of a turquoise discus. This is characteristic of inbreeding leopards multiple generations from what I've been told and what I've seen.

Second fish is undoubtedly a red turquoise.

As mentioned, the fry should look similar to the parents.

Fishy knickers