PDA

View Full Version : Question for those that are computer savy.

Scribbles
12-24-2009, 12:51 AM
So I was running my backup last night and the disk popped out of the tray and is wandering around somewhere inside my computer. :( I can't see it when I open the disk holder thingy. The computer seems to be working ok. Should I be worried about it? My brother told me to take the bottom off of the computer to get it out but this sounds like a bad idea to me. Couldn't something important fall out or jiggle out of place?

Chris

kirkp
12-24-2009, 01:41 AM
You saying that the disk (CD/DVD?) popped out of the disk drive? I'm not a expert but I don't think that's possible. Can't say though what might of happened to it otherwise.

David Rose
12-24-2009, 09:22 AM
Hi Chris, (if you're logged on and reading this message...THAT'S A GOOD THING...LOL)

Sounds like your DVD/CD disk drive is either out of alignment or may be loose. Sometimes those drives just pop out quickly as well and this is a one in a million chance issue.

I'm assuming you have a "desktop" style (a square box that sits on the floor) computer? If so, the outside usually has a panel that is made to slide upward to expose the inside. It may just be one of the longer sides of the desktop or sometimes it's the entire case cover except for the front that will slide upward. Depending on style and age of your computer, it may also have screws that may need to be removed in order to slide the outer casing upward.

Regardless, if you can get the cover off, you will see everything is pretty well secured inside and unless it's a Compaq computer there is maneuvering room. You should be able to see the disk easily and remove it. Just be careful not to bump any wires or jostle anything loose. Not so easy to do anyway. Make sure you unplug your computer first!