PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

scuba guy
12-24-2009, 07:27 PM
I am new to Discus. I installed a 500g show aquarium with Malaysian tree roots and rocks. The aquarium is 3 months old and is fully cycled. I have two 2260 eheim's and a 50 gallon sump-wet/dry trickle filter. Water is at 84 degrees.

The company that sold me the installation insisted I put a school of discus - and the owner managed to convince me.

I have 6 red mellons and 3 Leopards and 200 cardinals and rummy nose tetra's.
I feed them beef heart (I mix myself), frozen blood worms and tetra bits, two to three times a day.

5 of the red mellons are thriving - eat voraciously and are growing with great color. one of the Red Mellons has not grown much and hides and I have not seen it eat. All three of the Leopards have never eaten and are dying. They all exhibit Hexamita (white fecal strands), dark color, wasting away and hide in corners.

I treated the tank with Metronidazole, to no effect. I learned on this site and others that the fish need to ingest Metro for it to be effective.

I worry that my good Discus will suffer the same fate - although I can probably feed them Metro treated food.

I am curious as to your experiences with healthly and sick fish in the same aquarium? I can't get the sick fish out since the rocks and wood hide them - short of tearing apart the tank and putting all of the fish through stress - I am in a quandary ...

My big mistake was buying the Leopards without first seeing them eat and have a QT set-up. I was told they were healthy and ready to go. I don't think it was intentional since they are more than willing to credit me - but now I have an infected tank. And it is not practical for me to set up a hospital QT system. The show tank is for show.

Will the healthy fish survive?

hedut
12-24-2009, 08:18 PM