PDA

View Full Version : Low light Planted Discus tank

Nismo
01-03-2010, 11:13 AM
This is my first try at a planted tank. I've had my plants in there for 7 days now. I have a few questions if anyone could help me out. I'm using sand for the bottom of the tank.

1. My discus are about 18 months old and are about 4" plus in size. How often do I still need to do water changes for them since they are in a planted tank. Don't plants thrive on fish waste?

2. How long does it take for plants to usually die in a bad tank. I tried some of them seed bulbs and 1 is sprouting pretty fast. I also have 2 anubias plants that seem to have slightly wrinkly leaves. Is this a sign that the plant is dieing?

3. I have a hydro sponge and a 405 fluvo canister going with very low current flow. When would be best to take out the hydro sponge so that the plants would get more waste from the fish?

4. What web sights are good to order plants from.

Thanks for the help.

ChloroPhil
01-03-2010, 12:44 PM
Nismo,

Your plants should be fine under low light in the tank you've got. I'd recommend getting a few more of those bulbs, they're Aponogeton species and will thrive in a low light tank with a rich substrate.

What's your water like? Is it hard, soft, high pH, low pH, etc.

Cheers,
Phil

Nismo
01-03-2010, 02:05 PM
Nismo,

Your plants should be fine under low light in the tank you've got. I'd recommend getting a few more of those bulbs, they're Aponogeton species and will thrive in a low light tank with a rich substrate.

What's your water like? Is it hard, soft, high pH, low pH, etc.

Cheers,
Phil

Thanks for the reply.

I have soft water. ph = 6.5-7 my water is always 50/50 RO & Tap.

Fund out my anubias are find I just have the nana kind instead of silk anubias