PDA

View Full Version : Discus acting blind after water change

shawn burke
01-05-2010, 03:28 AM
hello every one i am new to discus, i have a 75 gallon tank 5 discus which consist of 3 adult and 2 sub adult, i also have 1 small golden nugget pleco and a school of 15 neon tetra.

my water temp is 87.5
ph is normally 7.6
nitrite is 0
amonia is 0
nitrate is 0

the tank has a gravel bottom, 2 large driftwood a few fake plants.
filter is wet dry trickle mechanical filter rinsed often in tank water

here is the question: i have had these fish for around 10 days the tank was fully cycled before adding fish i have had it up and running 6 months with tons of small tropical fish which were moved to a new tank. when i brought home the discus i think i over cleaned my tank and re started the cycle but i am not sure i had a small nitrite spike then 0 then nitrate the 0 then ammonia then 0.

when i first noticed the nitrite i added seachem nitrite eleminator and only 1 adult discuss acted as if he was going to die acting blind and drunk running into things and stuff. i quickly did a 80% water change with pure tap water and he started acting fine.

then today i did a 50% water change and he started acting blind and drunk again. the temp remained very stable but the ph spiked to 8.8 the ph straight from the tap is 7.6 i did use aqueon water conditioner in the new water but not over doing it if anything under doing it. i then tested the water noticed the ph spike then added some water conditioner with 7.0 buffer combined.

all of my other fish are light in color and my tetras are looking clear with hardly any color the pleco is very light in color and the discus are all fine looking but are acting strange.

sorry if i posted in the wrong place this is my first post and i need some advice i do not want my fish to die they are like dogs happy and greating me at the glass. THANKS A LOT

Eddie
01-05-2010, 05:49 AM