PDA

View Full Version : Planted Tanks - What are the problems?

Strong Coffee
01-05-2010, 03:50 PM
I'm new to discus and I would like to make my tank planted, but from looking around the forum a bit, planted tanks are described as challenging. What are the problems and pitfalls that are encountered with planted tanks vs. non planted tanks?

I am keen to keep a planted tank, but I don't want to take on too much at once.

Thanks.

Sharkbait
01-05-2010, 04:23 PM
While I have not had discus, I've had planted tanks for years...they are challenging unto themselves and adding discus, while creating an infinitly more beautiful environment, require a little more care in the 'balance' of both fish and plants.

First and foremost...figure out what you want more...a beautiful garden, or a beautiful discus tank. There can be a little push and pull but finding that balance is tricky.

Temperature. Most plants require certain temperatures much cooler than discus. Discus prefer warmer temps, so placing cooler plants into those temps will melt them in days. You can try to slowly raise the temp to acclimate the plant to the warmer environment, however, they will never "thrive" as well as they would in their natural temperature.

Backgrounds/Substrates. Plants look best with a black background because the colours 'pop.' Also, most substrates that are nutrient rich for plants are dark (brownish, black). These dark colours often cause the discus to darken or pepper because they adapt to their surroundings. A nice silca sand is often the solution to this (apparently discus react more to the substrate than the background, especially if you have a nice planted background hiding the black). Sand isn't the best for plants, but works for many if you add root tabs to supplement nutrients.