PDA

View Full Version : this is where they stay ...

traco
01-06-2010, 05:41 PM
at the farthest spot away from me! :mad: Everything is fine with water params, zero for ammonia and nitrite, 5 for nitrates. Water changes done daily, anywhere from 25% to 75%. Had them for over a month now. Would taking everything out help? They are in my office which I'm in pretty much all day. Just frustrating to look at them huddled in the corner mostly.

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b127/traco1/DSC_0003-4.jpg
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b127/traco1/DSC_0009-3.jpg

Tropheus
01-06-2010, 05:52 PM
I'm no expert but you might want to try and remove the wood and plant from the center of the tank. Is the temp right? (84-86 degrees) They seem to be huddling awfully close to that heat source is the reason I ask.

akumastew
01-06-2010, 05:57 PM
I think MMorris said something along the lines of...

"give them somewhere to hide and they will"

I had a similar issue, I removed all the tank decor and the beautiful fishes take the time to swim around.

After removing the decor, you could probably add it back over a time and mayeb they will decide they like swimming more than hiding.

They could be finding the place that has lowest current, which mine do during my water changes. Mayeb try switching off one of the HOBs for a couple of hours and see if they come out.

-Stew

traco
01-06-2010, 06:22 PM
The temp is 86. That corner is the furthest away from me and one of the heaters just happens to be there also. lol

I have yet to set up a sump for the tank. The heaters can fit in there and I could take out all decorations for the time being.

roclement
01-06-2010, 06:51 PM
Is the bottom of the tank covered or painted? What's beneath the tank? I found that with bare bottom glass and a clear glass they get skittish, specially with strong lights, try putting something beneath the glass and see if it helps, you can also lower the lights, assuming you have lights on the tank.

Rod