PDA

View Full Version : Everything about Well Water

bettebulldog
01-22-2010, 08:43 PM
Will be moving to a house with a private well. I currently am on city tap water. I guess i know nothing about the water at the moment. How to adjust fish to the water? Do i have any benefits from a well? Do I need to have RO? Just aged? Any info would be much appreciated as I have no experience on a well system.

ref0716
01-22-2010, 09:45 PM
It all depends completely on the characteristics of the water in the well. The one thing for sure is that it will not be chlorinated.
My well water comes out at a pH of 7.0, very soft, and very cold. All of my fish have adapted very well to "tap water". I simply temper the cold with some hot using a python and go at it with water changes: no need for dechlor or aging. That's been my experience, at least. Hope your's is a positive one as well.
Richard

Jhhnn
01-22-2010, 10:02 PM
You need to run an entire test series on the new water from the well- KH, GH, ammonia, nitrites, nitrates and TDS (if you have a TDS meter). Age and aerate a fairly large sample for 24 hrs to see if the pH changes, as some well water is high in dissolved CO2 which lowers pH.

Sometimes help is available form the county agricultural agent or similar agency. They may run a really complete analysis for free or nominal charge. They may also be able to tell you a lot about your water without that- neighbors undoubtedly draw their water from the same aquifer, so it's likely subject to occasional testing, at least...

David Rose
01-22-2010, 10:45 PM
Will be moving to a house with a private well. I currently am on city tap water. I guess i know nothing about the water at the moment. How to adjust fish to the water? Do i have any benefits from a well? Do I need to have RO? Just aged? Any info would be much appreciated as I have no experience on a well system.

I'm on a private well, but no two wells are the same necessarily:

Pluses: