PDA

View Full Version : What meds to buy before getting discus?

90 Gallons of Fun
01-22-2010, 11:00 PM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post. I am new to SD and have been reading these forums non-stop for about a week. My head hurts! This is the greatest site I have found on the web. Thank you all for posting your advice, pics and stories, as well as the advice you will be giving me today and in the future.

Anyway, I had discus many years ago and never had much success. Of course, there was nothing like this site back then. I have recently re-set up my 90 gallon tank and I am about ready to get some discus.

My question to you, is what medications do you recommend having on hand before I get my fish? I recall freaking out in the past trying to figure out what to do with my sick discus and LFS not being much help or not open when needed. I wish this site existed back then. I am very excited to get back in to this obsession (hobby.)

Thank you all for loving these fish and being a part of this site.
Rich

Eddie
01-22-2010, 11:13 PM
Hey there Rich! Great to meet you and welcome to Simply!

The question about what medications to have on hand comes up alot. In all honesty, if you are anywhere near a petstore, they generally have the things you need.

I am located in Japan, so it takes at least a week to get anything so I do actually keep some chemicals/antibiotics on hand.

External parasite - Potassium Permanganate, Formalin 3, Malachite Green and Anti-fluke life bearer. Also ordinary table salt.

Internal parasite - Metronidazole, Levimasole and Praziquantel. Also, Epsom Salt helps purge the fishes internals.

External/internal bacteria - Furan 2 or Kanamycin. Also ordinary table salt helps the fish during treatment with antibiotics.

Now these are just items I have on hand, not a requirement and definitely only used with strict instructions.

HTH

Eddie

90 Gallons of Fun
01-23-2010, 12:18 AM
Thanks Eddie! I will be visiting some LFS this weekend to be prepared.