PDA

View Full Version : Bare bottom tank question

bigbrad73
01-24-2010, 09:29 AM
How does the tank keep the good bacteria without the gravel or sand in it. I know it would be in you filter media. But everytime you clean it it seems like you would loose it. I have heard of people doing it with a secondary tank that you cycle water through both tanks. Just wondering. I was always told if you had a single tank you would have to have some type of substrate. Btw Im new to discus, I have been keeping big cichlids like jack Dempsey jags peacock bass and a aro. So def a new to discus but not new to the hobby.

mikel
01-24-2010, 10:31 AM
If you use a sponge filter, or even a HOB filter, always rinse the media out by simply squeezing it a few time in the tank water itself (maybe in a separate bucket, not in the tank itself). This, combined with daily water change with conditioned water, will be sufficient to keep your water quality high, and beneficial bacteria in good numbers. It is not necessary to have substrate, in my opinion, substrate is not a good match with discus. mike:)

Larry Bugg
01-24-2010, 11:15 AM
Two filters. I like a sponge and a HOB but a lot of people use two HOB's or Two sponges.

bigbrad73
01-24-2010, 02:10 PM
And rotate them?

Larry Bugg
01-24-2010, 03:11 PM
And rotate them?

Clean them on different schedules, that way when you are cleaning one the other is still running with the bacteria. As mikel said rinse them out in a bucket of water from the tank also. This way the filter you are cleaning will also retain some of the bacteria.

zamboniMan
01-24-2010, 03:34 PM
Unless the tank is going to be sitting empty for any length of time I wouldn't worry about it.

zamboniMan
01-24-2010, 03:36 PM
Depends on your filtration really. But eventually yes, they will need a bigger tank.

bigbrad73
01-24-2010, 04:50 PM
Depends on your filtration really. But eventually yes, they will need a bigger tank.