PDA

View Full Version : WHAT TO DO NOW?

merk175
01-27-2010, 07:01 AM
I'm new to the breeding thing and would appreciate some advice. My blue turq pair spawned last night. I understand if all goes well I should have wigglers in a few days. Should I be doing WC during this time or just leave everything alone? I don't want to spook them and cause them to eat the eggs. Also, do I feed the fish or wait a few days? I checked on them early this morning and the female is just staring at the eggs and the male has moved off to the side. thanks

Eddie
01-27-2010, 07:42 AM
I'm new to the breeding thing and would appreciate some advice. My blue turq pair spawned last night. I understand if all goes well I should have wigglers in a few days. Should I be doing WC during this time or just leave everything alone? I don't want to spook them and cause them to eat the eggs. Also, do I feed the fish or wait a few days? I checked on them early this morning and the female is just staring at the eggs and the male has moved off to the side. thanks

Hey Glenn, every pair is different. Some pairs will eat the eggs if you change ANYTHING in the tank and some will let you do whatever you want around the tank. I don't feed the fish at all once eggs are down. I do perform water changes, up until just before wriggler stage. Some don't change water, but I do. I won't do another water change until the fry are definitely attached.

Mind you, I am still a novice when it comes to breeding. I am sure some experts will chime in.

All the best!

Eddie

merk175
01-28-2010, 05:27 PM