PDA

View Full Version : Behavior????

Jen
01-30-2010, 09:58 PM
Hello,
I'm new to Discus and i have a few questions about their behavior:
(mine are all juveniles, one is only a month old)

1. What does it mean when they shake their heads from side to side? I had a case of fluke awhile back and i hoping it had not returned..They sometimes flash on the plants, but not too often

2. What do vibrating fins mean? I two kribensis in the tank, and i know that is a courtship dance thingy between them, but what does it mean when my discus do it......They are not old enough to court.

3. How do i stop a bully? I have a snakeskin that wont stop bullying my Pearl Dragon

Any Idea's would be most appreciated :)

Scribbles
01-31-2010, 03:35 AM
1. Shaking heads could be due to an irritation. I won't hazard a guess as to whether or not it's flukes because I'm not experienced in fish disease.

2. Vibrating fins can be due to an irritation or it's also part of discus body language. In adults it can be part of breeding behavior and in juvies it can mean back off.

3. Discus are bullies by nature. How many discus do you have and what size is your tank? If you have a group of 5-6 or more they will sort it out. They are like kids on a playground. If you only have 2-4 then one may get singled out and get stressed.

Chris

David Rose
01-31-2010, 10:00 AM
What did you use to treat for flukes when you had them last? What steps did you follow?

Jen
01-31-2010, 11:26 AM
I have 5 six month olds and 1 one month old.....They seemed to relax a little bit, I am hoping they will sort it out by the time the little one gets a little bigger...I treated the tank with Parasite guard (Jungle) and it killed my biological filter.....So after a couple of weeks i treated with Prazipro

bs6749
01-31-2010, 11:35 AM