PDA

View Full Version : Sponge Filters

JL15219
02-07-2010, 12:31 AM
I am planning on setting up a 125 gallon tank with some driftwood and plants attached to the driftwood only like moss, anubias, java ferns, etc on substrate bare bottome....Well anyways I was thinking of using a sponge filter or two would that work or should I just buy a canister filter instead? I have never used a sponge filter in an aquarium so I have no experience with them..... so any input would be great
Thanks
Javier

Eddie
02-07-2010, 01:03 AM
Hey there Javier, sponge filters are great, very basic and they have a huge surface area for nitrifying bacteria. Some people have them in display tanks so its just a preference. You definitely don't need one but if you can hide one behind the driftwood, it could be beneficial. My personal preference, I would use a canister for a show tank.

Take care,

Eddie

Jhhnn
02-07-2010, 01:30 AM
I'm a believer in redundant systems, so I'd use both sponge filters and a canister filter... the same way I use heater controllers to operate heaters with their own internal thermostats... My airpump is plugged into an automatic battery backup, and I have a generator out in the shed if things get really silly...

JL15219
02-07-2010, 01:11 PM
Are the sponge filters as effective as a canister filter in regards to keeping the water clean? What would I use to power the sponge filter?

mmorris
02-07-2010, 01:15 PM
You just need an air pump and tubing for the sponge filter. I use bother canister and sponge on my big tanks. I think a canister is a more efficient mechanical filter, but both are efficient biological filters.

clairel
02-07-2010, 07:25 PM