PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here..My first post..

maximus
02-17-2010, 04:05 PM
Dear friends,
Needless to say I have been hit like all of you by a discus bug..well here's the situation..

I have a 4x2x2 tank all set with sponge filters for receiving 10 1 inch juvenile blue diamonds from a famous breeder in my country,India this sunday.. but the problem is like its really a huge tank..so changing water even upto 50 % is troublesome..but I know I need to do atleast 50 % daily..so here's what I have decided..

Can I go for a 30 inch (length)x16 inch(breadth)x14 inch(hieght) tank for 10 1 inch Blue diamonds for atleast until they get to 2 to 3 inches...I know the tank is damn small for them but I can do atleast 80 % waterchange everyday...

The other option is like I fill water only upto 12 inches in the 4 feeter and change 50 % water until they get to be 3 inches...

Please let me what you guys think...it will be really helpful...

maximus
02-18-2010, 11:47 AM
Hoping for a reply friends...please help...

Cooldadddyfunk286
02-18-2010, 11:50 AM
I think that should work out fine. Im not very good with putting the dimensions of the tank with how much water they hold. how many gallons are these 2 tanks ur talking about??

thanks, welcome to Simply!! :D:D

take care.

tdiscusman
02-18-2010, 11:57 AM
Same here, I think the smaller tank (29 gallons) will be fine, and are better, for couple of months

Tony

Cooldadddyfunk286
02-18-2010, 12:11 PM
yess, I thought it was a 29 LOL. I have 2 of those and I still couldnt tell LOL. I would have to say yes. the smaller tank should be more than enough room for 10, 1 inch fish. as they grow, move them into the bigger tank. but sometimes when they are really little, they feel a bit more secure in a smaller tank, the 1 inch fish might be kinda intimidated by such a big tank, altho Im sure they'd get used to it.

hope that helps! :D

take care.

maximus
02-18-2010, 01:20 PM