PDA

View Full Version : Breeding 2 pairs in 1 tank

wiifish
03-02-2010, 12:56 AM
Hi all...this is my first post on this site. :p

I had a few questions on breeding Discus. I have been away from the hobby for almost 20 years but I never forgot those beautiful Discus. I am back and can afford a few fish unlike when I was a struggling student...YEA! I started getting luck...or rather my fish are... I scored my first pair of Leopard skins and two days in my 120 planted tank (which was my intention for them) THEY STARTED BREEDING! I never would have dreamed I would see the day I would get a chance at breeding these beauties. They have bred 3 times since I got them and they ate all their eggs :mad: The female recent developed some gill bacteria or maybe gill fluke. I have her under quarantine and she is being treated. Doing well but stressed. I bought a brand new spanking tank for them...a 40 gallon (36x18x24 I believe). They did fine and did breed but as I said ..ate ALL the eggs. Today I scored a second pair. I forgot what kind they called it as it was definitely a pair. They were shaking their fins at each other more than a flag on a windy day! The male chased everyone from his mate. The store owner said they were a proven pair. Approx 9 months old (about 5"). I got them home and thought, I better not put them in the planted tank as I have cardinals...to much stress for them to fend off egg eating fish. I decided to stick them in the 40 gallon and see if they will still exhibit the same MOJO they had in the store, only with my male Leopardskin lurking around. I guess the rule of 3 took over and the Leopardskin chased everyone around and the female of the new pair was so submissive, she let him peck her all over including her face. I Figured too much aggression at stake so I went to Home Depot and bought a plastic light diffuser/ Louvre which made a perfect tank divider. Just hope it is safe for the fish as many site on other forums stated they used them w/o issues. My