PDA

View Full Version : Need some help

ssajid
03-04-2010, 02:14 AM
Hi,

My name is sajid and i joined the forum recently.

I am new in this hobby. I choose discus because of its beauty. I lived in Karachi, Pakistan and unfortunately the suppliers or the vendor of the fresh water fishes in pakistan is selling the very common species like, carbs, gold fish and chiklids of various types. But a good quality discus is very rear in pakistan. Also they have no knowledge about discus.

First of all I tell you the setup that I have, you can see it in the picture also.

55 gal tank.
Astro 2206 water filter
Under Gravel Filter
one peice of drift wood
three types of live plants
25% Water Change alternate day
50% Water Change ater 15 Days

I purchased 4 pairs from a local shop 4 months ago, i have lost 2 fishes during this period. One of my discus expire today reason i dont know but one thing i observe that all of the fishes did not take the feed (Frozen Blood Worms) for the last 24 hours. They are hiding behind the drift wood.
One of them swims randomly and at a very fast pace and then float in the water with out struggle. The first one had gone in the same manner. I dont know the reason.

I am new in this hobby but the last 4 month are very sensational with discus.

Now I think i came to the right place where I can get help to make my discus happy and healthy.

Wish all of you a very happy day.

Sajid

Eddie
03-04-2010, 07:03 AM
Sajid, BIG welcome to Simply and you have come to the right place. One thing that hits me straight off the bat, is the use of an undergravel filter. These types of filters do not mix with discus. They tend to collect too much debris and this build up can become a playground for parasite/bacteria.

One thing that can really help others pinpoint what might be affecting the fish, is knowing all the details. Can you copy and paste the questionnaire into a reply and answer all the questions, as detailed as possible.